DIY – Recycled yarn

Ever wondered what to do with your old, possibly stained clothes? I recently cleaned out my closet and realised I had a bunch of baggy old clothes that I hadn’t worn in months, maybe even years. As I wondered what to do with them I came across the concept of T-shirt yarn. It was the perfect solution for me.
All you need is your old clothes and a pair of scissors.
IMG_6212_FotorSTEP 1.

Lay your garment down on a flat surface.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6214_Fotor

STEP 2:

Remove all selvages to form a rectangular shape.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6215_Fotor

STEP 3:

Cut one side of your T-shirt in order to open up this piece of fabric.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6216_Fotor

STEP 4:

Starting at any corner begin cutting the fabric leaving a width of about 1cm. As you reach the corners continue turning with the fabric in order to get a single continuous strand of yarn. Once done it will look something like this:

IMG_6220_Fotor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6224_Fotor

STEP 5:

Roll your yarn into a ball and you are now ready to crochet/knit anything your heart desires.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are my old clothes 😀

IMG_6241_Fotor

 

One thought on “DIY – Recycled yarn

Leave a comment