Gajlaxmi Palace, Dhenkanal, Odisha

As you approach Dhenkanal on National Highway 42 it is almost impossible to visually locate Gajlaxmi Palace. The Palace is the home of the Dhenkanal royal family and is quietly tucked away on Megha Hill overlooking vast stretches of forests. Jitendra Singh Deo and his wife Navneeta welcomed me into their home with warmth and generosity.

After a wonderful home cooked lunch we headed out to visit a small artisan village. This village comprised of no more than 50 homes with all its residents working on the craft of Dhokra. Dhokra is a non-ferrous metal casting method that uses the lost-wax casting technique.

The next morning we went on a nature walk that took us through another small village and around the royal family’s property.

Tragically I had to leave soon after. I missed out visiting the Joronda Temples, the Satakosia Sanctuary and so much more. Can’t wait to go back…

4 thoughts on “Gajlaxmi Palace, Dhenkanal, Odisha

    1. of course i did :D… bout myself a beautiful lamp and some small figurines 🙂 🙂 🙂 I also bought some of their raw material to try and create something of my own eventually 😀

      Like

      1. I’ve been quite crafty my whole life… I won’t be able to recreate exactly what the artisans have made but I should be able to play around with the material and create my own figurines :D… keeping my fingers crossed hoping it works out well 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

